RSS
Link
03 May

For LATIN or GREEK or MADE-UP-WORD ETYMOLOGY-LOVERS Like Me: A Cool Harry Potter List of Spells and Charms

As a book-lover and Mom (who also happens to be a remnant of those who happily studied Latin in high school), it was a bit of a spoiler for me (and occasionally “intriguing”) when, years ago, I read the Harry Potter series and came upon each spell or charm. Just by reading the spell, I already knew what it would probably do, just from my love of languages as a child. Nowadays, American teachers rarely have time to engender such a love and study of languages outside of “approved curriculae”…Sometimes I wish I could just say “Wingardium Leviosa” to some K-12 curriculum guides and toss them out a window…!

(In case you’re wondering, I’m in the midst of our own birthday mania, but still found time to take our two youngest to a Harry Potter-themed birthday party near the mountains. It let me reminisce, if only for a moment or two!)

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on May 3, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
